The Case of the Vagabond Wagtails

WhiteWagtailI’ve mentioned white wagtails before – and how my desire to see them twisted the identity of completely different bird species to fit my purpose – and so, having yearned and not achieved, I expected that they would be a pipe dream.

But fate conspired against me. And so you can imagined how surprised I was, when, at an intersection in Barcelona city, I spotted a suspiciously familiar-looking white face and characteristic wagging tail. A quick Google later, my suspicions were confirmed – I had finally seen a white wagtail.

I could finally boast of seeing it, though the fact that I had to traverse half the globe to do so undermined my argument slightly. Ah well. When this individual in question was literally just outside the airport to greet us, I’m not complaining.

8 thoughts on “The Case of the Vagabond Wagtails

Leave a Reply

