Tit’s Tub

CoalTit_Processed

On our last day of Kullu, I went for a walk on my own.

This was not the best decision in some respects. When I came back, half the prickly plants in the Himalayas had decided that my pants would be the best place to hitch a ride on. And I was stuck for half an hour picking them off.

In other respects, however… well. There were Verditer Flycatchers. Plumbeous Redstarts. The chance to watch the world come alive with bird song.

And one very cute bathing Coal Tit.

The route I followed was along the course of a small stream, and it was in the stream I spotted the Tit. The stream dipped down at a section to form a microcosm of a waterfall; where the water fell, the Tit was bathing.

I really have no words to describe what it looked like, and how freakin’ cute it was, so I’ll let this video speak for itself.

8 thoughts on “Tit’s Tub

    1. Unfortunately not. Our only even vague counterpart is the pin-striped tit-babbler. Luckily I had my fill of tits in Kullu – I saw three different species! This was the most memorable encounter, though. πŸ™‚ I guess in Singapore we have to make do with the tit butterflies, which are, to be fair, stunning.

      Like

      1. Aww! That’s too bad. Chickadees and titmice are adorable too. We saw blue tits and briefly glimpsed a black-capped chickadee and a tufted titmouse during our trip to the UK last December :3
        Just googled tit butterflies. They look amazing! :O Do they have “tails” on their wings?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

