Three Lines, Three Photographs, Three Days: Silhouettes

After the black-and-white challenge a few days ago, I was nominated by Priya on Facebook for another, less well-known one: the line challenge. As the title of this post so aptly describes, it covers three days, on each of which you post one photograph containing at least three lines. It seems like something of an esoteric challenge, especially in wildlife photography, but once I started looking I realized lines are everywhere.

I took this image at Sungei Buloh a couple weeks back. It’s a flock of whimbrels (Numenius phaeopus), a migratory shorebird species now being found in full force on most of Singapore’s shorelines, in flight. While processing it, I decided to go a little ‘artsy’ with it. Most photographers strive to avoid grain at all costs; I actually added it to this photograph to give a sort of old-timey film feel to it. How well it turned out I’m not so sure – tell me in the comments!

WhimbrelsinFlight(Artsy)_ProcessedLogo

Leave a Reply

