Monochrome Madness: Twisting and Turning

Leanne Cole’s wonderful challenge, Monochrome Madness, has been going on for quite a while now, and after one submission sometime back, I decided it was time for another. Since my last one, I’d been using black and white a lot more in my photography, and it was lovely to share one of my more recent photographs.

Also, sometimes I photograph people. This came as quite a surprise to me, but there are, undeniably, so many amazing portraits of people or parts of people (I MEAN THINGS LIKE HANDS) and in general, subjects that aren’t nature. So this is what I ended up with.

Somewhere_Up_A_Tree_Monochrome_Madness

I recently went on a trip to Charaka, a community of weavers, with a non-profit micro-finance organization called Rang De. It was a fascinating trip, not least because we saw a pair of Malabar Grey Hornbills, a species endemic to the Western Ghats (yes, I did go looking for birds there). While there, we had a chance to observe the practice of traditional dyeing. In this picture, the cloth has been dipped in indigo, and is now being vigorously twisted on a stick to get rid of the excess liquid. It’s a practice that’s dying in many parts of India (pun not intended) and it was enchanting to watch.

In other news, I’ve just (and I mean just) returned from a week long trip to… wait for it… Kenya!

Needless to say, I had the time of my life. We visited Lake Nakuru and the Masai Mara, I saw over 100 different species of birds, and on top of it all, we got the chance to witness arguably the greatest wildlife spectacle of all time: the Great Migration. Thousands upon millions of wildebeest, zebras, and Thomson’s gazelle travel north to take advantage of the rains.

Amazing doesn’t even cover it.

While I was there, I kept a journal of things I wanted to remember of the trip and I’ll be sharing that with readers of my blog in the upcoming days, accompanied by pictures I took. We had a chance to see so many endangered species, including the endangered Rothschild’s giraffe and the critically endangered black rhinoceres– but if you want to learn any more, best stay tuned. šŸ™‚ I had so many amazing experiences and learned so much and I can’t wait to share it with you.

2 thoughts on “Monochrome Madness: Twisting and Turning

Leave a Reply

