Meet the Pigeons

About two and a half months ago, I saw a Pink-necked green pigeon (Treron vernans) perched on the bush that’s next to our house with a twig in its mouth. Being the over-excited and eager-to-jump-to-conclusions person that I am, I got too close and scared it off, but not before getting this shot of it.

IMG_0212

Pink-necked green pigeons are actually commonly seen around Singapore but tend to be skittish (though not as much as some other common birds I could name *COUGH* white throated kingfishers *COUGH*) and hang around the tops of trees. When the males deign to grace us lowly humans with their presence, they are stunning. This picture’s not the best to see its pink neck, but I’m sure you can find your own.

On with the saga. A month later, on a hunch I’d like to call amazing nature skills, I saw its female count again– in the bush, with a full-formed nest beneath it.

I’m still not sure how that happened.

I have a picture of it, but it’s vanished somewhere into the multiple photo libraries I have. I will find it. Sometime.

So I’ve kept checking on them at regular intervals since. I’ve seen no sign of eggs but the bush is really dark and shadowy so it’s quite possible I missed it. Most photographs don’t come out well because of said shadowiness, but it’s enough to know that there is life being created next to us. I’ve seen baby pigeons earlier, actually, quite by accident, in fact. I saw some leaves moving in a bush when there was no wind blowing and upon further investigation discovered these. Hopefully I’ll be seeing their younger siblings soon enough! I will keep you posted.

uRgJqy1JNPWtkG-2y8XJtS3vCtyY0cU6A10IXJnvuPnYu4csnN2V9Jo-SztResa1PO7woYrtRRbIttFgHSb53Q

This picture isn’t great; I took it a year ago.

2 thoughts on “Meet the Pigeons

Leave a Reply

