Monochrome Madness: Serenely Dozing

Monochrome Madness: Serenely DozingLast week I had the pleasure of participating in Leanne Cole’s weekly Monochrome Madness challenge. While I don’t have the equipment to shoot directly in black and white, I do, however, have a computer. Looking through my old photographs, I realized that while we are often so focused on color, black and white concentrates attention wonderfully on the subject and its surroundings.

This spotting itself was pretty awesome. We had exited Nagarhole Tiger Reserve, having just missed a tiger. When I say just, I mean just– one jeep had turned left, one jeep had turned right. One jeep saw the tiger– the other didn’t.

But then, outside the gate, news came of a leopard. Our guide, Phillip Ross, an amazing wildlife photographer and teacher, had been visiting Kabini for so long that it only took a word with the forest marshals to let us back in. He told us not to raise our hopes. I’ll never forget that ride to where the leopard was. We were driving at breakneck speeds, my hair was blowing everywhere, and everyone had this ecstatic look on their face. I may or may not have let out a maniacal laugh born out of pure joy.

And when we saw the leopard– well. Let the picture speak for itself.

One thought on “Monochrome Madness: Serenely Dozing

Leave a Reply

