Found It Sunday

img_1123The results of the first Find It Friday are out. While no one managed to identify it correctly (which is understandable, seeing as this was taken in India) Arya Mansourzadeh managed to narrow it down to type of bird: owl. Aloysius Eng was even more confident and got it down to species of owl, identifying it as a Collared Scops, but he was wrong. Sorry! Alfred YW spotted the owl, but while remaining within the category of nocturnal birds, identified it as a nightjar. Cynthia found both the birds, but her identification guesses were wrong. As for the second bird, only Alfred YW and Cynthia seemed to have found it at all, so congratulations to them!

So, what was it? The bird circled in the photo above that’s closer to the bottom is a Spotted Owlet. Here’s a close-up of it.

8XhcZuNNSn4zUiR135oTJPJRlySSReon2VKdvOVgPBHBJ-YaL_6aQmk4XCYllBQHhZ2iVTt8ViGSsPN1NyxPOA=s1200

I spotted this literally next to Ranthambore National Park, Rajasthan. It was the second species of owl I had seen– ever! But to be honest, even I couldn’t spot in the picture above when I was reviewing them later.

As for the second bird, I wasn’t even aware of its existence till I reviewed the picture! So I’m not completely sure of its identity, if you’ll forgive me. However, I believe it to be a Plum-Headed Parakeet or a Rose-Ringed Parakeet. The latter is more likely but as I have no better photographs of it have a Plum-Headed instead.

IMG_0740

Most people dismiss nature and biodiversity as non-existent just because they can’t see it. But as the four people who spotted the birds proved above, that doesn’t mean it isn’t there.

2 thoughts on “Found It Sunday

  1. AHHH
    YOU GOT TO SEE AN OWL?!
    They’re my favourite birds and I’ve always wanted to see them and take pictures of them (now that we have better cameras)
    Also it looks quite far away, how did you manage to get such a clear shot?

    Like

    1. I know right?! I love owls almost as much as I love kingfishers, and that’s saying something. 🙂 My first owl was a Buffy Fish at Pasir Ris Mangroves and then I saw this spotted owlet in India – the only reason I saw them at all was because of a birder on the property who knew where they lived. In the picture, the bird looks far away but it actually wasn’t – it’s just a wide-angle lens, and the proper photographer was cropped quite a bit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

